Author Topic: Freecoaster hubs  (Read 3644 times)

Offline auburn88

Freecoaster hubs
« on: August 09, 2014, 10:26:52 PM »
Hi all, I'm fairly new to this forum, but have been riding off and on for 25+ years. Really just getting back into it after a looong break.

The freecoaster that came on my 2014 Ares Ashura complete has some left/right play in the wheel. I've taken it apart and it just doesn't seem to get any tighter. Is this common with the freecoaster hubs or just mine?

And whether or not I decide to replace this hub, I want to build up another set of wheels for another bike I'm working on. What freecoaster hubs would you recommend I check out, and you've had good luck with?

Offline DaddyCool

• Deathtrucker
Re: Freecoaster hubs
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2014, 09:06:28 PM »
Hi,
I have no experience with the Ares hub. As an alternative you could choose the Nankai which was very popular some year ago because it works good as long as it is properly adjusted, you need some experience...
The KHE ones are easier to maintain and also work very good in my opinion. Federal, Alienation and others offer hubs with the KHE internals.
Recently hubs which are based on a cassette came on the market. For example Ezra and WTP freecoasters work like this.
I suggest to search the forum, you will find many discussions...
Good luck.

Offline SaschaB.

• Cliffhanger
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2014, 10:01:33 PM »

The freecoaster that came on my 2014 Ares Ashura complete has some left/right play in the wheel. I've taken it apart and it just doesn't seem to get any tighter. Is this common with the freecoaster hubs or just mine?

And whether or not I decide to replace this hub, I want to build up another set of wheels for another bike I'm working on. What freecoaster hubs would you recommend I check out, and you've had good luck with?

Hey,

at first, sorry about my bad english! I'm not that pretty good as german.......