Author Topic: Lower back issues due to never switching feet?  (Read 3936 times)

Offline Gensanity

• GF Inhabitant
  • ....enjoy....
    • My Art For Free & For Sale
Lower back issues due to never switching feet?
« on: September 19, 2011, 09:44:43 PM »
Heya

I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of this happening?
Over the past couple of years my riding has really slowed down and over this past year I have started noticing a popping very low in my back, almost in my hip.  It occurs usually when I am lowering my left leg if I have my knee raised 90 degrees.  I never knew what the cause of it was but yesterday I finally went out and had a good session for the first time in months and that exact spot in my back is now really sore.

I think I may have determined the root cause and now it looks like it's time to start learning everything opposite foot.  Hopefully that will help strenthen & realign everything?

Yeah I know I should of done that way sooner but I am more comfy just doing everything left footed.

thanks much,

Clint

Offline Gensanity

• GF Inhabitant
  • ....enjoy....
Re: Lower back issues due to never switching feet?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 11:19:37 PM »
wow

I did not expect it to be this difficult but I am struggling to even do a fork glide on the opposite side!  :| 

But it is a fun challenge, & hopefully it ends up helping out w/ my back. 

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.  :/

Offline Punch

• Forkglider
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 05:34:40 AM »
I know exactly what you're talking about Gen.  The pop doesn't hurt but it feels really awkward.  Don't know if riding is the cause but I have had the same popping feeling in my Hip for a long time and never bothered to find out what it is.  I think it has something to do with the head of the femur in the acetabulum. When I lay on my back and roll my left leg around it pops, but when i roll my right leg it feels fine.

Offline Le_Polonais

• Backpacker