Author Topic: bunny hops  (Read 2147 times)

Offline poonpower

• Funky Chicken
bunny hops
« on: November 18, 2007, 07:55:08 PM »
I've been riding flatland for at least a few months now, and can do a few basic things. But one thing that bothers me the most is I cannot do a proper bunny hop.

I can hop the bike with both wheels going up at the same time, to the height of around 2 or 3 feet. But I just cant bunny hop, like lifting the front wheel up first, then lifting the rear.

I've been reading all the tips and vids but still cant do it, now I've popped my tire going over a curb, which sucks.

Anyone had the same problem and would wanna give some tipssss?

Offline Milenko2121

• GF Inhabitant
  • "Girls come and go, but bikes are forever"
Re: bunny hops
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 08:07:12 PM »
well i'll try and explain how i do them.

pull up like a wheelie then jump(like you're going to pull the bike straight up) and push forward on the bars

took me a long time to learn to bunny hop... most most likely a strength issue though since i was trying to learn them at 10, but never got them till like 14.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2007, 08:09:08 PM by Milenko2121 »
"Sometimes You Just Need To Do Something... Different"

Offline Andy Marsh(Mallow)

• Backpacker
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2007, 11:37:51 PM »
2-3 feet?  Not bad.  That's high for a straight up hop.  Just think how high you'll go when you are able to do a real bunny hop.
being small has it's advantages... :mellow:

NoSweatShop.com" BORDER="0

Offline lJohnnyTheFoxl

• Cliffhanger
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2007, 01:06:11 AM »
pull back, then push forward and leap a little with your back legs, to lift the back end of the bike

NiteCamo

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2007, 01:11:58 AM »
I think he over-estimated that 2-3 feet

Offline stopkaiross

• Backpacker
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2007, 01:12:18 AM »