Author Topic: Some "un-google-able" questions from someone who's been out of the loop  (Read 2991 times)

Offline FlatBlackMetal4130

Hey all, I've been riding flat since ~2004 but riding gradually slowed down as I got married and moved from NJ to VA in 2012. Between not having a good spot, riding alone (unmotivated), and having 2 kids/school/work/whatever I have basically not touched my bike besides a few 30min sessions to see if I can even still ride over the last 5 years.

Now that the kids are getting older and the world is semi-normal, I have actually found some time to ride again. I even met a local novice flatlander to ride with which is HUGE for motivation to get out and relearn everything.

My bike is in generally good working order but I personally wanted to change out some parts and browsed Flatlandfuel and noticed soooo many things have changed. Here are some of my questions as they pop into my head...

1.) What happened to KHE Bikes? when I rode alot in the early 2010's they were a big name, and I rode their tires.

2.) I noticed a lot of the tires don't have bi-directional tread. Would this be noticeable riding flatland? I still have Frequency G's (which I've ridden since they came out) and I dont recall them costing $40?

3.) Were flatland pegs always so expensive? I currently ride G Sport Plegs with griptape on them, they seem a bit short (but I already had them on my Street set-up). are people running 4x1.5" pegs as standard? I believe I ran something closer to 5x1.75" in the past and this seems uncommon now?

4.) Does anyone have a  *strong* preference on seats? I have the Odyssey Aitken seat now which is fine, I really liked my McNeil Collier(?) seat but mildew got to it, had to throw it out basically.