Author Topic: Selecting parts for a new rear wheel  (Read 12885 times)

Offline aliasdck

• Cliffhanger
Selecting parts for a new rear wheel
« on: August 17, 2020, 02:13:26 AM »
My current rear wheel is 15-20 years old. It is a 3/8" nankai technolite freecoaster (48H), chrome odyssey hazard lite rim, and I believe just generic 14g spokes with 3x lacing pattern. The chrome on the rim is chipping, it's due for a rebuild soon and the wheel is heavy by today's standards so I'm starting to save up for a whole new wheel that I will have flatlandfuel build. I have never done this before instead I've always got my wheels either second hand or already prebuilt - I've never selected the parts individually myself. So while I am saving the money needed I am doing research on what I want in the meantime.

I'm curious if anyone has any advice or recommendations. Here is what I'm thinking so far:

Far East Cycles Freecoaster (36H)
GSport Birdcage Rim
14g double butted spokes
Brass nipples
Probably 3x lacing

I'm trying to build a light but still decently strong wheel. I only ride flatland, no street or park riding. I also use brakes so need a rim with enough surface area for the pads. A few questions:

1) If I have the money, is there any reason not to upgrade the axle/driver to titanium? Like, have people had any problems with the freecoaster working properly when upgraded? Anything special I need to consider with the titanium upgrade.

2) I'll probably go with 14mm since my dropouts are 14mm but my current setup uses a 3/8 axle with adapters and I like this because the adapter protects the threads of axle from damage when the integrated chain tensioner bolt tightens down on it. I'm worried that without anything to protect the 14mm axle, that the integrated chain tensioner bolt will start to damage the axle threads. Or is there another way to protect the threads? Or is the damage minimal and of little concern?