Author Topic: Bar height  (Read 5698 times)

Offline aliasdck

• Cliffhanger
Bar height
« on: April 07, 2019, 04:42:37 AM »
ive been thinking about trying a taller handlebar, curious if anyone has any input. I've been using the same pair of bars for many many years, they have a 7.9 inch height. I'm thinking a trying something with a 9-10 inch height.

The reason I want to try a taller bar is because I am a fairly tall guy, about 6'2". I shot a video of myself and noticed I tend to hunch over quite a bit when I ride, so maybe taller bars will feel more comfortable? I don't know, I normally hunch over while walking around anyways... my posture is pretty bad. So maybe I won't benefit from taller bars, I really don't know...

I'm also  torn on the idea because I HATE making changes to my setup because it always feels so awkward until I get used to the changes.

Have any of you switched to taller bars? What was it like for you? Any advantages/disadvantages or any advice?

Thanks

Offline metalbmxer

• GF Inhabitant
Re: Bar height
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2019, 07:34:52 AM »
When u switch to a 9” bar like the intrikats you’ll wonder how you ever rode anything shorter. Tricks will feel easier and your riding position more comfortable.
Dax (now in LAS VEGAS as of July 2022)

Offline FlatSociety

• Company
  • Hitchhiker
    • FlatSociety
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2019, 01:20:35 PM »
What Dax said!

Offline nosubsteve

• Hitchhiker
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2019, 03:44:59 PM »
I always find threads like this a bit misleading when people search for them.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure more rise will be great in your case, but when I've searched for answers to these kind of questions in the past I've struggled with the lack of other information like: what's your stem rise, number of spacers, what frame size/geo etc.