Author Topic: Help starting flatland please :)  (Read 6872 times)

Offline deacon

• Funky Chicken
Help starting flatland please :)
« on: October 11, 2017, 11:23:53 PM »
Hi all, I just got my first flatland bmx today and looking for a fair bit of advice please. I've got loads of stuff to ask so I may as well make a list.
Please bare in mind that I'm a complete newb to this :)

1. I'm 37, am I past it or is there still a chance I can learn this stuff?
2. Could you recommend some tutorials starting with the basics, I just got my bike today and managed some bar spins standing on the back pegs, but I don't know where to go next, and I don't know the names of any tricks (I've heard of a hitchhiker but don't know what it is lol).
3. The bike I got today is a used flybikes micromachine. Any good?
4. My bike has a one piece crank, is it straightforward/beneficial the put 3 piece cranks on it?
5. All the videos online I've seen have people riding without brakes. Should I strip my brakes off and get used to not having any from scratch or should I start with them still fitted?
6. Is this the main forum for flatland or is there others? I couldn't find any others when I've had a google around.
7. I'm in the uk (Sheffield), does anyone know if there are any uk Facebook groups for flatland? The only one I could find was for buying and selling parts.

I'm sure I'll think of lots more questions. Sorry if I've posted in the wrong place but it didn't seem like the 'introduce yourself' section was the right place for all the questions.

Thanks a lot.
Deacon

Offline Timmer74

• Hitchhiker
Re: Help starting flatland please :)
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 06:50:12 AM »
hey there Deacon. Welcome to the amazing (and frustrating) world of flatland!