Author Topic: Troubleshooting thread  (Read 1928 times)

Offline tweaked

Troubleshooting thread
« on: December 24, 2013, 07:47:35 PM »
I just started riding again and have been watching vids and reading 'how to' stuff.
What I find is they all tell you what to do rather than what NOT to do which is what can keep you in a rut for a long time, repeating the same error over and over.
So I thought it would be good to post a common mistakes type thread.

For example, I've been learning hang 5s and the rear would always come down, no matter how hard I pushed the bars. Then I realized I was stiffening the leg I have on the peg when I go into it. That pushed the front wheel forward and brought the back down. Focusing on keeping that knee bent helped. I'm still learning but that got me out of a rut.
Or on peg glides you need to weigh the bars on one side more if the bike tends to tip to one side.

So this could be a place to collect all our hard earned insights.
Like this maybe

Trick: hang 5
Problem: rear won't stay up
Fix: try to keep peg leg bent as you push the bars forward.

Offline getzfafive

• Funky Chicken
Re: Troubleshooting thread
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2013, 11:32:28 PM »
The only way to really learn a trick is with continuous failed attempts ("practice").  I think muscle memory acts in a more intuitive and instinctual manor, rather than a logical thought process.  In my day job, I'm basically a "troubleshooter". The logic and methodology I use in my day job, I don't apply to BMX.  BMX is an art form, which uses a certain part of the brain and logic / troubleshooting uses a different part of the brain.  I don't like to mix the two.  When your out riding and have a mechanical failure, I think one reason it pisses you off so much is , to deal with the mechanical failure your forced to switch mindsets away from the creative and back to the logical.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2013, 11:34:25 PM by getzfafive »

Offline tweaked