Author Topic: Heavy Newbie  (Read 11744 times)

Offline ngpete

Heavy Newbie
« on: October 04, 2013, 03:25:45 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm 175cm / 5'9" with 90kg/198lbs. I'm new to bmx and i wanted to try flatland. However, i've yet to buy myself a bike. My concerns are my size and weights against the bike. I would also wish to be able to sit and cycle my bike to gym, as street bike's seat is a bit too low to do so.

What would you guys think about St Martin Darwin for a beginner like me?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Offline D

• Deathtrucker
Re: Heavy Newbie
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2013, 03:37:41 PM »
198's a bit heavy for your height but it's really not that heavy, I don't think it would be too much of a problem.  I would imagine that Kevin Jones and Ivan Ademic are both over 200 lbs. and are amazing riders. 

Offline clint23

• Funky Chicken
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2013, 07:32:40 PM »
Don't ever let your weight be a consideration  I rode everyday from the time I was 12 till  I was 23 and at  17 years old I was 6' 190lbs built like a football player. I got back into riding at 28 and I was 350lbs and out of shape road everyday until I was 35 and my weight had been up and down the whole time but mostly over 300lbs I ride a normal setup I even have plastic pegs and I have never broken anything that I would contribute to my weight.

Offline metalbmxer

• GF Inhabitant
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2013, 07:33:08 PM »
Yeah get the bike bro. That'll help you cut down on your weight big time. All that dieting and fad bullsh*t doesn't have near the effect that a few good sessions a week bring. Buy it and don't look back!!!!
Dax (now in LAS VEGAS as of July 2022)

Offline 2flat2furious

• GF Inhabitant
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2013, 10:06:34 PM »