Author Topic: newbie hang 5 frustration  (Read 3399 times)

Offline mcflattigan

newbie hang 5 frustration
« on: April 29, 2011, 09:46:36 AM »
I am new to flatland so plz don't be to harsh lol. I have been working on hang 5's everyday for 6+ hours a day for the last week and it is beginning to frustrate me to an extreme. I can ride into, or at least get my seat up and hold for about 5-10 feet but can't ride out and still doesn't quite 'feel' like i have control. So I guess my question is: how long does it take to learn? This trick has been my only focus for the past little while and I am feeling like i'm getting nowhere  :huh: I can steam roller, peg wheelie, ect. just simple basic tricks but this one seems to be the hardest and most frustrating yet!... Sorry for the long post, but i'm hoping to get some encouragement to keep going. Also what 'stages' if i may did you go through to learn it? Am I just being a panzy about this trick and over reacting? Any advice would be helpful thanks!

Offline manu

• Hitchhiker
Re: newbie hang 5 frustration
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2011, 10:50:52 AM »
yes this can be a pain to learn. Especially because it's the first advanced move you learn.
What you're experiencing is exactly the reason why many start but few persevere.
Trying the same thing over and over again numbs you and will drain the courage right out of you.
That's why I always talk people into switching things up a bit.
Try it with the seat higher and lower. Add some spacers under your stem and then take them all away.
Start from the back peg and then start from the pedal.
Bend your knee to the extreme so that you get tucked in deep over your handlebar and then stretch it .
Swing your balancing leg all the way back and forth again.
By forcing yourself in all kinds of different positions your body builds up a memory.
These memories may not always be the correct ones to perform a proper hangfive but in time you'll be able to weed out what works and what doesn't.