Author Topic: Newbie starting off brakeless...bad idea?  (Read 11635 times)

Offline remedy

• Forkglider
Newbie starting off brakeless...bad idea?
« on: May 18, 2007, 03:44:38 PM »
I got my signal last week, hadnt the opp to ride b/c im too busy SO whilst I havent been riding I was thinking about starting off brakeless....

Im thinking that I might just be making things hard for myslef and in the longrun discouraging.
but Im also thinking that if I have no breaks its like doing a heavy set at the gym WITHOUT a spotter, so you KNOW its all up to you, theres not safty nets..

I dunno. watufinks?

Offline LuvFlatland

• Backpacker
    • Myspace!
Re: Newbie starting off brakeless...bad idea?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2007, 03:53:12 PM »
as a newbie myself i think u should learn a trick with brakes first then learn it without brakes, because if u learn it with brakes u get the feel for that trick and also it boosts ur confidence once u land a trick with brakes so u can land it brakeless. Well thats my theory, i would like to see ehat other ppl here think :)
I live in Los Angeles!!!

Offline oicdn

• Funky Chicken
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2007, 04:00:28 PM »
Starting flatland seriously within the past week, I see brakes are preference.

All the how-to's tell you to do a fire-hydrant you need to grab your brakes to bring the front end around, when I've been able to do them by mistake by just leaning back and slightly to the side after a fork glide.  I haven't been able to pull them on purpose everytime, but I know I can do it without brakes just as easy.

Tricks like a decade can be done Adam Banton style, but jumping off the rear tire, and same goes for whiplashes...just footjam it.

there's a little innovating needed, and although I have no idea on harder tricks, I've noticed all it takes it a little bit of lean.

That said, I spent money on these $$ brakes and my fork has tabs on it, I'm keeping my brakes, lol.  That and I ride VERY LIGHT street, so I need brakes.