Author Topic: Beginner questions  (Read 7959 times)

Offline bagsntrane

Beginner questions
« on: September 11, 2009, 03:04:51 AM »
Hey,
I am new the forum first of all. I have enjoyed watching flatland for about 3 years but now i want to learn how to do it. I did some searching of older threads and found out some of the major brands of bikes and some models. There is a bike dealer near me that only sells Harro and Mirraco bikes. Im assuming the mirraco bikes bikes wouldnt be suitable since dave mirra isnt a flatland rider, or is he? I would like to spend as little money as possible while still getting something that wouldnt be a hunk of junk because i still am not sure if this is something that i will stick with. I would also like to state that im a complete noob when it comes to bikes in general. My knowledge of them goes as far as riding. As Im searching around what kind of specifics on bikes would I be looking for? Thanks!!

-Tony   

joshs.

Re: Beginner questions
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2009, 03:15:28 AM »
i started out with a bike from the local shop for bout $200. i still managed to learn most of the basics despite it not being a flatland bike. it helps to have a bike made for flatland but its not necessary. you might find a complete bike for cheap on the for sale part of the forum.

Offline letsgo

• Backpacker
    • Ketch Bikes
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2009, 03:48:12 AM »
Well we can start with "What make a bike a Flatland bike?"  Any bike with 4 pegs will be a good start.  A bike that would be good for flatland would be short in length and when beginning maybe a front and rear brake.  Look on craigslist in your area or maybe get a GT Slammer cheap and would work for the time being.  Like Josh said check the sales here.  As you progress you can upgrade and swap out parts.

Offline Lurtz uruk

• Funky Chicken
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2009, 04:38:31 AM »