Author Topic: FW steams  (Read 2186 times)

Offline AddisonM

• Backpacker
FW steams
« on: April 01, 2009, 12:17:32 AM »
Hey GF, I think i've got FW steamrollers down fairly good, i can ride them for a long time, have fiddled with switching hands, etc. but once i'm in the FW steam position, I'm not sure what to link it to. I'm a beginner so keep that in mind.

Also, anyone have tips on jumping from dork wheelie straight into one footed manual?
I'd rather have AIDS than buy another Nankai.

Offline stvnlpsly

• GF Inhabitant
  • Quest BMX
    • Quest BMX
Re: FW steams
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 12:19:27 AM »
maybe link into funky chicken or if you can cruise them pretty well then maybe try wheelchairs

the beard

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 01:24:12 AM »
steams have a ton of possibilities; double footed, steam to karl cruiser, fw to bw steam, spinning, then tricks like half hiker, funky chicken, crackpacker etc. I haven't tried jumping from dork to one foot manual, but you might try doing the dork on one foot, and then stepping with the other to the pedal. idk man, either way, good luck, it sounds fresh

Offline Ken NJ

• GF Inhabitant
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 01:50:42 AM »
how do you get out of your fwd steams? 

when i got fwd steams down (not too long ago), i started to do this fwd rolling thing where i swing the frame back under (from back where it came from), and ride out..  looks cool budz suggested linking it to a karl kruiser or fwd hang 5...

now i'm trying to link fwd steams to hitchhikers..

budz showed me a good method for getting used to swinging the frame up from fwd steam to hitchhiker.

stand with both feet on the floor and (with pegs to your shins, pinching the front wheel), practice swinging the frame up into the hitchhiker position.

this will do a few things:
1.get you used to pivoting the frame with your feet in place.
2.get you familiar with the pedal position.