Author Topic: Rear Wheel Adjusting  (Read 1481 times)

Offline Hugo @ Portugal

• GF Inhabitant
    • FlatlandPT
Rear Wheel Adjusting
« on: July 15, 2008, 11:08:30 PM »
I've been riding for about 4 years now and something that always upseted me is the adjustments we need to do every once in a while on the rear wheel.

I mean, I must be really noob at mechanics or I just don't possess the right tools for the job couse everytime I need to work around a rear wheel problem (mostly that annoying play) I always end up quitting couse I just can't get it to work.

When I bought my bike I asked for chain tensioners but it only came with one, not a pair. This is a bit strange since it makes all sense to have them on both sides making sure the axle is pulled towards the rear end in the same amount on both sides, anyway..

Today I wanted to ride for a little bit but I had my rear wheel dismounted. When it was almost done I noticed the chain was going against the.. how do you call it.. not the chainstays the uppermost tube.. seatstays maybe, I dont know.

So I figured I had done something wrong when tightening the peg bolts (how do we call them anyway?..).
Right now my ride is standing upside down in my room and I have no idea how to put an end to all this hustle. I guess I need more tools and probably another tensioner but the fact is that the axle ain't gonna take much more spacers or anything since there's already few room to put the wheel in to place with pegs and all.

Im really frustrated and I need help. Images would help ALOT.

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2008, 11:11:31 PM by Hugo @ Portugal »

Offline brian84corvette

• GF Inhabitant
Re: Rear Wheel Adjusting
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 01:37:56 AM »
I just don't possess the right tools for the job couse everytime I need to work around a rear wheel problem (mostly that annoying play)
^
you are talking about the 2 on each side- nuts that keep the hub of your rear wheel snug,  those are coming loose on you ?