Author Topic: front brake gyro?  (Read 2783 times)

Offline (B)MX_4-Ever

  • Cliffhanger
  • *******
  • Posts: 520
front brake gyro?
« on: May 01, 2008, 12:12:39 AM »
just wonderin if anyone uses a gyro for their front brake...

SCOTTISHFLAT

  • Guest
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2008, 12:17:17 AM »
my freind used a gyro for frnt brake for double brake set up..but didnt wrk..besides that id think it would be stupid/pointless and time consuming to do so if it did wrk

blindingsun

  • Guest
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2008, 12:28:22 AM »
theres no way it could work........ you'd need 2 .. one at each headset cup.. and it would be pointless...

Offline (B)MX_4-Ever

  • Cliffhanger
  • *******
  • Posts: 520
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2008, 12:31:00 AM »
how would it be pointless? and im talkin about doin it with no back brake, just front

Offline boylefilms

  • Backpacker
  • ******
  • Posts: 223
    • boylefilms.com
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2008, 12:55:35 AM »
i was under the impression you could just feed the brake cable down through the top of the fork........

Offline PSchoolen

  • Company
  • GF Inhabitant
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2008, 02:00:33 AM »
I assume the person asking this question is new to flatland so we should just explain the purpose of the gyro. The gyro is for the rear brake cable and allows your bars to rotate without the cable ever binding up. A gyro is not necessary for the front cable because it is directed through the center of the fork's steerer tube which make it impossible for this cable to bind up while the bars are rotating. No gyro needed for the front cable.
Patrick Schoolen
www.flatlandfuel.com

blindingsun

  • Guest
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2008, 02:53:35 AM »
how would it be pointless? and im talkin about doin it with no back brake, just front

its not so much pointless...although it is. its just you can't physically do it..... try it with 1 gyro and watch what happens when you spin the bars.. the bottom segment of cable is STILL gonna twist around the top of the forks. you'd need to use 2 gyros and have have UBER skills to get them to work. and you'd need alot of knarps.


Offline 1wheelin

  • Backpacker
  • ******
  • Posts: 350
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2008, 03:47:20 AM »
One more reason why iride brakeless...

Offline (B)MX_4-Ever

  • Cliffhanger
  • *******
  • Posts: 520
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2008, 05:13:24 AM »
anks guyz...btw, i no how a gyro works, i got one on my bike right now...ive just never used a front brake before, EVER lol. i just thought it would get caught in the forks. nvm then.

THX

Offline mare

  • GF Inhabitant
  • ********
  • Posts: 1729
  • tmp®
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2008, 09:09:23 AM »
why do u actualy need gyro for front brakes ???

Offline Andy Marsh(Mallow)

  • Backpacker
  • ******
  • Posts: 290
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2008, 09:19:14 AM »
Quote
why do u actualy need gyro for front brakes


The only reason I could think of is that he has an older bike that doesn't allow the cable to go through the fork, such as a racing bike/dirt bike, like mine.  If that's the case, here's the solution: 

 Freestyle Aheadset Star Nut and Cap
http://www.flatlandfuel.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=198
being small has it's advantages... :mellow:

NoSweatShop.com" BORDER="0

Offline (B)MX_4-Ever

  • Cliffhanger
  • *******
  • Posts: 520
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2008, 11:24:27 PM »
yeah, its an 03  haro x2 dirt jumpin bike...how do i check if i cable can go through the fork and how do i set up a brakeset???

Quote
The only reason I could think of is that he has an older bike that doesn't allow the cable to go through the fork, such as a racing bike/dirt bike, like mine.  If that's the case, here's the solution: 

 Freestyle Aheadset Star Nut and Cap
http://www.flatlandfuel.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=198


that link didnt work cuz ff is taking inventory right now...

Offline jason_21218

  • Backpacker
  • ******
  • Posts: 340
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2008, 11:44:14 PM »
OK, look at the stem compression bolt, and see if it's hollow. Look down it and see if you can see your front tire. If you can, then that is the hole your front brake cable will go down into to get to your front brake. If you can not see any hole in your stem compression bolt, then you need to buy one with an opening, which will depend on your forks. As far as your forks, you will have to add a brake plate, if your forks do not already have brake mounts. I know it's confusing,but look at pics of flatland bikes and look at how their front brake cable goes down into the stem bolt...
« Last Edit: May 01, 2008, 11:56:47 PM by jason_21218 »

Offline Andy Marsh(Mallow)

  • Backpacker
  • ******
  • Posts: 290
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2008, 12:18:02 AM »
Quote
that link didnt work cuz ff is taking inventory right now...


here's another link to someplace else...
http://www.danscomp.com/309015.php?cat=PARTS

brake plate:
http://www.danscomp.com/489057.php

I would wait until FF gets back online, though.  The brake plate on FF is a Tektro and the one on Dans is heavy, (I own it) and looks like an off brand to me anyways...
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 12:22:15 AM by Andy Marsh(Mallow) »
being small has it's advantages... :mellow:

NoSweatShop.com" BORDER="0

Offline jason_21218

  • Backpacker
  • ******
  • Posts: 340
Re: front brake gyro?
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2008, 12:38:22 AM »
 (B)MX_4-Ever

if you PM me your address, I'll gladly mail  you a brake plate for free. I'll never use the thing.....