Author Topic: hey im a newbie  (Read 3271 times)

Offline korey_777

hey im a newbie
« on: April 23, 2008, 03:42:54 AM »
hey guys i just joined this forum and thought it would only be fair to introduce myself.  have been interested in flatlanding for a few years now. i  longboard/snowboard. only got the chance and money for biking  recently! based on the reading i've done it looks like im leaning towards the DK signal. but first im gona go to a local bmx shop and talk to the mechanics there. wish me luck!

Offline Mr.Jowee

• GF Inhabitant
Re: hey im a newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2008, 04:02:28 AM »
Just a heads up; the people at the bike shop probably haven't even heard of flatland, and definitely don't know what a freecoaster is.

Offline korey_777

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2008, 04:11:38 AM »
i was sort of skeptical about asking them to. i work at a skateshop and half the people i work with don't have a clue what there doing.

i found a small local bmx shop thats  run by some guy who owns 2 shops and does work for pro riders. i had a chance to talk to him on the phone, seemed pretty legit but i guess i won't know until i go. thanks for the heads up

Offline brian84corvette

• GF Inhabitant
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2008, 04:32:29 AM »
im not saying dont support your local bike shop - with out them you may find your self in a pinch with no way out -   but you can also check out
www.flatlandfuel.com
super cool site - only carries the good stuff for flatlanding.   no bs there.

you should fill out your profile info -  like where you live and put your self on the member map  -   that way you can maby find local flatland ppl to check out.
see what's up with the scene in your area. - maby test out a fiew diffrent bikes other ppl ride  and see what feels good.

I just figured out that I like 0 offset forks and 26mm reach stem alot better than my old carp.
Old dudes can still rip

Offline korey_777

« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2008, 04:36:18 AM »