May 2010: Magnus Larsen from Norway
Name: Magnus Skoglund Larsen
Age: 26
Sex: Male
Location: Porsgrunn, Norway 

When did you start riding?
I started riding BMX bikes at 14, doing street and park riding on and off for 5 years. Started riding some flatland on the side and it slowly took over. This is my 7th season riding flatland. 

How often do you ride?
I started out riding an hour now and then, but this and last year I have tried to ride 5-7 days a week if the weather allows me to. 

Do you ride contests?
I don´t, there are none in Norway. If there was, I wouldn´t be entering.

Magnus in the lotWhere do you ride? – Your Spot(s)
My local spot is a parking lot next to a grocery store. It´s slanted sideways, but I mainly roll straight forward. The spot is good for rolling, not great for circles and that has probably influenced my style. It´s the only spot in town, pretty much. In the wintertime I hibernate.

Magnus rolling

Can you tell us a bit about the riding scene in your town?

There is none! Well, there used to be a small number of street riders, and we hung out and rode together all the time. Some moved away, some got hurt, some just quit. I ended up being alone and riding flatland, until a great friend of mine moved back here from studying and took up flat as well as street. Other than the two of us, I rarely see someone on a BMX bike. 

Imagine you could make a flatland world tour, which 5 places would you like to visit for riding and why?
In no particular order:
1. Algarve, Portugal
2. The Green Mile
3. Helsinki, the Flatland worlds?
4. US, maybe Austin, maybe Athens.
5. Australia  

I spent January 2009 in Algarve, Portugal riding with my friend. It was truly awesome to escape winter for a while and have nothing to worry about but riding. The green mile seems like such a great spot, and I´d love to see Phil Dolan, James Smith etc. ride in person. Helsinki seems like the place to be this year, I might go. Both Austin and Athens seems to have really nice scenes and riders. Love the videos by Dane Beardsley. Australia just seems.....nice. 

Magnus balanceIs there a goal you would like to reach concerning your riding?
I think I have reached some kind of goal already, and that’s having loads of fun riding without having too much pressure on progressing. I mean, I have learned more and harder tricks than I thought I ever would, and to be able to just go out and have fun doing hiker and whiplash variations puts the biggest smile on my face and can turn any day into a perfect one. It´s all about the feeling of riding! 

Which trick/combo do you work on at the moment?
G-turned with both feet on the pegs, fire hydrant thrown into a g-turned hiker (tring to get the hang of some riding in circles) more whiplash\hiker variations and I want to learn some crossfooted stuff. 

What kind of music do you like? Tell us your 3 favourite songs
I´m what they call an audiophile and that also means I love music. I don´t own a television and spend a lot of time in front of my stereo. I listen to all kinds of music: Jazz, folk, hip-hop, DIY punk, indie, pop, postrock etc. Nothing gets me going like some good hardcore or related music, though. 

Three favourite songs...that´s too hard! Right now I´m hooked on Hot Water Music - Where we belong! 

Tell us 3 things you like and 3 things you don’t likeRolling hang five
Positive: Positivity; living the vegan lifestyle; riding late summer nights. 

Negative:Negativity; violence towards innocent beings; not being able to ride during wintertime. 

What is your job?
I work in a company that specializes in developing machines and other equipment, primarily for the industry. We have also made some equipment for physically handicapped people and such. I am a 3D cad tech and automation tech.

What are your hobbies besides flatland and do they influence your way of riding?
My hobbies are my stereo system, making and eating vegan food and listening to music. I guess they influence my riding in some way. I try and like to keep a positive flow in my everyday life, listen to good music, eat good food, have a good time on a bike, hang with positive people. Having a positive outlook definitely helps when sessions turn sour and you can´t pull shit! He he. 

Magnus´ bikeBikecheck:
St. Martin Eiffel 18.9" with Odyssey Flatland Forks, Suelo stem and Shadow Conspiracy Vultus 9" bars. I love tall and wide handlebars, anything else does not make a proper bike. I ride Primo gripper seats; because that’s the only seat I´ll ever want to ride. Until the industry comes up with a better and newer version of this seat I refuse to change it. I have broken some seatposts, so I ride a shadow conspiracy post. Cranks and sprocket are Suelo, Odyssey pedals; shadow chain reaches a Nankai with Profile shell laced to a Fly front rim with an Odyssey Chase G 1.75 tire. Up front I ride a Fly front hub laced to another Fly front rim and the Odyssey Chase G 1.85" tire. Oh, and messed up Suelo pegs that must be 6 years old now.  

Last words:
This is the place for shoutouts, wise words or whatever you would like to tell the world…
I´d like to thank Steinar Viken at, the only proper BMX shop in Norway, for supporting me and putting me on his "team". He´s also a great friend and is one of the reasons I started riding flat. Another reason I started was Tomas Westgård, thanks for being a major inspiration! Thanks to my fellow rider, Magnus Movik, for nice hangouts, sessions and for holding the camera steady when I get nervous while filming. Late night sessions, tubo grips, 1.85 chase tires, primo seats, not having a pretzel frame (I´m a hypocrite(for now)), 9" 2pc bars, not having a single KHE part on the bike...all things positive ;) 

As for the wise words I would like to encourage everyone to go vegan and stay positive. 

All I ever wanted was to pick apart the day, put the pieces back together my way.

2010-05-04 - Morgan






Ankara escort İzmit escort Gaziantep escort Kuşadası escort İstanbul escort ankara escort Escort bayan İstanbul escort