February 09: Matti Hemmings

imageName: Matti Hemmings
Age: 21
Sex: Male
Location: Wales, UK


When did you start riding?
I started 4 half years go

How often do you ride?
I ride about 3 to 4 days a week, juggling work. I ride about 3 or 4 hours when I session.

Do you ride contests? If yes, what was your biggest success?
I´ve only entered two contests biggest success was both am contests at NASS in the UK took 1st place gave me motivation to push myself even more after.

Can you tell us a bit about the riding scene in your town?
I live in a village, so the nearest city is Cardiff and that is about an hour away from other riders. There’s about 7 riders in Wales that I know, and we sometimes get together and ride. It wasn’t long ago, that I met a guy from Thailand, I had him over here studying, and was refreshing to see him ride.

Imagine you could make a flatland world tour, which 5 places would you like to visit for riding and why?image

I´ve heard from a rider there that the scene is crazy 40 riders in 1 spot something to see and feed off.
London: The Green Mile  - I wouldn’t mind going to check that spot out as reported to be the best UK spot for flatland right now.
France: Circle Cow contest - would´nt mind checking that out.
Spain: Just to ride in the sun ha-ha (Weather´s not so good here).
Germany: I would like to check out contests there.

Is there a goal you would like to reach concerning your riding? I just want to progress and push all the limits.

Which trick/combo do you work on at the moment? I am riding brakeless so I try to pump all my combos, rather than scuff if I can. Been doing lot of switches and jumps at the moment looking into different ways


What kind of music do you like?
I listen to lot of drum and bass hip-hop and dubstep. Welsh hip-hop seems to give me more motivation at the moment like Him, Learning Culture, Headcase Lads, etc.

What is your job?
My job is labourer for a local building company just down the road. It’s not the most enjoyable job but it helps me out with money and keeps me fit and healthy, rather than going for a work out in the gym.

What are your hobbies besides flatland and do they influence your way of riding?

My girlfriend influences me a lot with my riding pushing me to progress. Break dancing is something that I like watching and music is another influences my riding.

Frame: KHE Paris 2
Bar: Swiss Miss
Fork: Inertia
Front rim: Gusset lite
Front hub: KHE
Rear rim: Gusset Lite
Freecoaster: KHE freecoaster
Tires: KHE tires
Crank: Profile Pro Race
Sprocket: Profile TI 24
Seat: Thompson
Pedals: Wellgo
Grips: are just inner tubes that have popped ha-ha. Yes its true, I put inner tube around my handle bars then tape them up

Last words - This is the place for shout outs, wise words or whatever you would like to tell the world...

Like to thank you guys for the interview my girlfriend jess for being her. Scott at welshsidebmx.co.uk for flowing me up with his vendetta clothing brand. Old skool rider matt denny dyer for pushing me with my riding and photos. Steve green for making me my custom parts and fixing them when they break cheers Steven ha-ha and extreme culture in Pontypridd for looking after me with parts anyone that’s come across me and helped me out cheers.

2009-02-11 - Morgan